About Us

The Western Dakota Energy Association is a membership organization comprised of the counties, cities and school districts in the oil and coal-producing regions of North Dakota. WDEA is led by President Shannon Holter, a member of the Bowbells City Council.

WDEA members must have oil, gas, or coal development in the county boundaries. Associate memberships are also available to non-energy counties, businesses and organizations.

The Executive Committee meets a minimum of ten times a year. The next annual meeting of the association will be held in Williston in 2021.

WDEA is managed by Geoff Simon, Executive Director, Bismarck. Janet Sanford, Teamworks, Bismarck, is Treasurer and operator of LoadPass Permits, the uniform truck permit system.