Coal Counties

The North Dakota Coal Conversion Counties (CCC) have two members on the Executive Committee of the Western Dakota Energy Association. In 2020, John Phillips, Beulah, and Brad Rinas, Washburn Public School District, are serving on behalf of the CCC.

CCC Chairman John Phillips, right, discusses energy and housing issues
with Ryan Bernstein, a member of Senator John Hoeven's staff.
Bernstein now serves as Hoeven's chief of staff in in Washington, D.C.


North Dakota Association of Coal Conversion Counties Board of Directors

Chairman John Phillips, Beulah
- Mercer County City Representative

Vice Chairman Brad Rinas
- McLean County School Representative

Secretary-Treasurer Steve Frovarp
- Hazen

Lee Husfloen
- Oliver County Commission Representative

Gene Wolf
- Mercer County Commission Representative

Tracy Peterson, Center
- Oliver County School Representative

Darwin Saari, Turtle Lake
- McLean County City Representative

Barry Suydam
- McLean County Commission Representative

Ken Miller, Hazen
- Mercer County School Representative

Harold Wilkins, Center
- Oliver County City Representative